WhatsApp gives you up to two days to delete a message, instead of an hour

Did you send a hugely inappropriate text message for your boo to, I don’t know, your boss? Now you have some extra time to save and delete your face – at least, if you’re using WhatsApp.

WhatsApp users now have just over two days from sending a message to delete it instead of just an hour, the company announced Today.

To use the new feature now, open the WhatsApp group or individual chat where you sent the messages. Make sure to tap and hold the content you want to delete, click “Remove,” and then select either “Remove for everyone” or “Delete for me.”

But before you start deleting, keep in mind that there’s a (minor) downside: all recipients need to be updated to the most recent version of WhatsApp for this to actually work – and you won’t receive a notification if the message not done remove.

Still, this could be a nifty new feature that could help WhatsApp gain a slight advantage over Apple’s iMessage instant messaging service. After all, Apple still doesn’t offer this capability and will only do so when its new iPhone, iPad, and Mac operating systems are released, possibly this fall.

For now, though, the iOS 16 beta only gives users two minutes to pull the plug — and only as long as recipients have downloaded the beta, too. Which, let’s face it, isn’t something you can count on.

Show Love ❤️